Across the Pond

A year in the other Cambridge

The silver lining

Leave a comment

In case I haven’t whined enough already, this hasn’t been a very happy term. I’m sure I’ve been this stressed before, but maybe I’m getting too old for this or something, because these past weeks have felt particularly bad. Since my birthday usually fell during finals week in college, I’m usually studying and don’t have much time and don’t really want to make a big deal out of it. This year, I had told my classmates in advance that we should just postpone a birthday celebration until we were all done with exams.

But they didn’t listen.

shortcakes!

shortcakes!

At some point during the year, we had asked around what everyone’s favorite desserts are, and I said strawberry shortcake. None of them knew what I was talking about. But they found a recipe and made them from scratch. And I’m not a little dismayed to say that I think they’re better than the ones I make…

group pic in the rooftop garden of JBS

group pic in the rooftop garden of JBS

They also made apple crumble for another classmate whose birthday was last week, and though they all say they’re not bakers, that was amazing too.

To put this in perspective, more than half of our marks will be decided in the next month or so. This includes two math exams, a research project, a term paper, a reviewer’s report, and a handful of proofs. So, I really have the best classmates 🙂

Leave a Reply

