Across the Pond

A year in the other Cambridge

Ely

Leave a comment

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it here, but I’ve wanted to go to Ely for quite some time now. It’s a small town 17 miles north of Cambridge that’s named after eels and famous for its cathedral, nicknamed the “Ship of the Fens.” Also, Oliver Cromwell lived in Ely. But the main attraction is that it’s 10 min away by train (and the ticket only costs 4.30 for a return!) and it’s somewhere to visit.

Well, today my friends and I decided to hop on a train and go visit, since none of us had ever been! It was supposed to be cloudy and rainy today, so we left early to get there before the bad weather did. I woke up at 7:30AM O_O

Image

“Ship of the Fens”

Image

Image

A prayer net. I really like the colors!

Image

Possibly the coolest part of the trip. We found this alcove that had little chairs with cushions that had Cambridge college crests. This is Newnham

As my guidebook says, “Ely is a small, dense town that fails to live up to the high expectations created by its big attraction, its cathedral.” I thought it was cute and I liked seeing the countryside, but yeah, we spent around 2 hours there, about a half hour of which was inside a tea room eating some admittedly pretty darn good scones. We briefly considered (not really) doing the 17-mile trek back, but it was chilly today. Where is spring??

One last shot of the River Cam (17 miles further north than usual)

Image

I’m off to London tomorrow and Belgium early Saturday morning, so have a good weekend, everyone, and Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

