Across the Pond

A year in the other Cambridge

Super Bowl Snacks–UK Style

1 Comment

Seriously, I promise I’ll stop talking about the Super Bowl after this. But I thought I would put my residual excitement to good use and not be a total laggard on my posts.

I invited all of my classmates over to my college MCR (graduate student room) to watch the Super Bowl, and quite a few of them were kind enough to come and stay here until 4AM to watch the game with me! Since they were giving up sleep, I figured the least I could do is treat them to the glory that is Super Bowl Snacks. Like, you know…

buffalo wings

buffalo wings.

But you would be surprised at how difficult it is to purchase such things. (How do they survive without buffalo wings?!?!) Nevertheless, I managed to purchase:

  • Tortilla chips (including these AMAZING jalapeno flavored ones… I think I need to go back to Marks&Spencer to buy some more!)
  • Tomato salsa
  • Pizza
  • Chicken wings, Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, and butter for wings
  • Avocado, shallots, tomatoes, limes for guacamole
  • the aforementioned cookies
  • Blue Moon and Sierra Nevada Pale Ale (American beer!!)

I was running a little behind as usual, so I only got this one (half-eaten and half-missing) shot of the spread before the game started:

IMG_3892[COOKIES WERE OVER HERE]

(Again, because I was running late, I didn’t take a close up of the guac. But it looked and tasted amazing, thanks to Richard and Ila’s recipe!)

But anyway, on to the meat of the post (sorry, I couldn’t resist), I made buffalo wings from scratch! I even had to cut the wings into the recognizable drumettes and flats. Because I didn’t fancy having a huge vat of oil at the end, I used this recipe from Serious Eats for “Really Good Oven-Fried Buffalo Wings.”

IMG_3857

And then they had to rest for 8 hours in the fridge.

8 hours is a long time... I actually only waited 6.

8 hours is a long time… I actually only waited 6.

Despite not adding any oil, these wings fried themselves up quite nicely in the oven.

Do you see the giant air bubbles forming under the skin?

Do you see the giant air bubbles forming under the skin?

Looking wonderfully crispy and crunchy

Looking wonderfully crispy and crunchy

Of course, the buffalo sauce from scratch too.

IMG_3874

A quick toss, and voila! The finished product 😀

IMG_3886

All the food turned out even better than I had hoped, and it was an awesome Super Bowl viewing party across the pond with wonderful friends 🙂

One thought on “Super Bowl Snacks–UK Style

  1. A great tradition in American cuisine.

    Now you’re obligated to watch rugby or soccer games with your friends, but only if the food will be equally awesome.

Leave a Reply

