Across the Pond

A year in the other Cambridge

First day at JBS

Leave a comment

I thought I had a photo of the Judge Business School, but I think my dad took it on his camera. So you’ll have to wait until the weekend or whenever I can pop over with my camera. It is truly a very strange building.

Anyways, it was the first day of my program today. Classes haven’t started yet, but we had all the welcome/introduction meetings today, as well as a research MPhil drinks party! I think the purpose of all of our meetings today were to scare us about the next year and beyond. Not sure if that’s just to make sure we work hard, or if it’s actually that scary.

I also met all 6 of my classmates and the one student who did this program last year, who’s now a first-year PhD student here. They’re all really nice 🙂 …and I’m the oldest one. 😦 We got lunch and dinner together, lunch at Downing College and dinner at a Mexican place. I didn’t realize how much I had missed tacos until I had one–and the horchata was amazing!

But back to my classmates. Surprisingly, only one of them is British! (Or perhaps I shouldn’t have been surprised after the introduction about how diverse and international JBS is.) Three others have studied in the UK for undergrad, but everyone else is from Asia–2 from Hong Kong, 1 from S. Korea, 1 from China, and 1 from Taiwan. And then there’s me, the odd American in the group. I think I’m the only one who doesn’t understand half the words coming out of people’s mouths! Then again, maybe they don’t understand me either, so fair’s fair 😛

Interesting British phrase of the day: “doing revisions” means studying or reviewing. Like “exam revisions” instead of “exam review”!

Leave a Reply

